Congress Urges Secretary Kerry To Start 2014 Taiwan Policy Review Process

For Immediate Release
Washington DC – September 25, 2014
Contact: (202) 547-3686

Congress Urges Secretary Kerry To Start 2014 Taiwan Policy Review Process

In a letter dated September 23, 2014, 29 members of the House of Representatives led by House Foreign Affairs Committee Edward Royce (R-CA) called up Secretary of State John Kerry to start the process of conducting a 2014 Taiwan Policy Review. The members write: “[W]e feel strongly that there is a need today to undertake a new and thorough Taiwan Policy Review, laying the basis for further expanding relations with Taiwan and thereby enhancing continued peace and stability in the region.”

The following Representatives signed the letter: Ed Royce (R-CA), Steve Chabot (R-OH), Pete Sessions (R-TX), Michael McCaul (R-TX), Richard Hanna (R-NY), Randy Weber (R-TX), Paul Cook (R-CA), Ted Yoho (R-FL), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Steve Stivers (R-OH), Collin Peterson (D-MN), Leonard Lance (R-NJ), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Scott Garrett (R-NJ), Kenny Marchant (R-TX), Luke Messer (R-IN), James Lankford (R-OK), Howard Coble (R-NC), George Holding (R-NC), Todd Rokita (R-IN), Chris Smith (R-NJ), Ted Poe (R-TX) and Matt Cartwright (D-PA), David Schweikert (R-AZ), Steve Stockman (R-TX) ,Blake Farenthold (R-TX), Marsha Backburn (R-TN), J. Randy Forbes (R-VA), and Doug LaMalfa (R-CA).

The letter continues: “In 1979, when we shifted diplomatic recognition from Taipei to Beijing, Taiwan was ruled by a government claiming to represent China. When the United States conducted its last Taiwan Policy Review in 1994, Taiwan was just starting to emerge as a full democracy. […] Over these past two decades, the people of Taiwan have consolidated their democracy, and established a vibrant and pluralistic democracy in their country…”

It concludes: “We thank you for your leadership and look forward to working with you on this important and timely project which will enhance our relationship with an important democratic ally.”

FAPA President Mark Kao, PhD states: “With the geopolitical shifts that have taken place in the Pacific during the past years, and with the 2013 U.S. rebalancing commitment to Asia, a second Taiwan Policy Review is overdue. Such a review should include a U.S. commitment: – to the principle that the future of Taiwan should be determined peacefully and by the people of Taiwan, – to U.S. support for Taiwan’s membership in all international organizations, – to the lifting of all restrictions on high-level visits from and to Taiwan, and to the sale of advanced weapons to Taiwan.”


以眾議院外交事務委員會主席、加州共和黨議員羅伊斯為首的29名眾議員,於9月23日共同連署致函美國國務卿凱瑞(John Kerry),要求凱瑞著手進行2014年台灣政策檢討報告。該信函寫道:「我們強烈地認為現在必須重新詳細地檢視我們當前的台灣政策,並為越趨密切的台美關係立下新的根基,以持續提升區域和平與穩定。」

簽署該信的眾議員除羅伊斯議員外,尚有以下28位議員:Steve Chabot (R-OH)、Pete Sessions (R-TX)、Michael McCaul (R-TX)、Richard Hanna (R-NY)、Randy Weber (R-TX)、Paul Cook (R-CA)、Ted Yoho (R-FL)、Alan Lowenthal (D-CA)、Steve Stivers (R-OH)、Collin Peterson (D-MN)、Leonard Lance (R-NJ)、Bill Johnson (R-OH)、Scott Garrett (R-NJ)、Kenny Marchant (R-TX)、Luke Messer (R-IN)、James Lankford (R-OK)、Howard Coble (R-NC)、George Holding (R-NC)、Todd Rokita (R-IN)、Chris Smith (R-NJ)、Ted Poe (R-TX)、Matt Cartwright (D-PA)、David Schweikert (R-AZ)、Steve Stockman (R-TX)、Blake Farenthold (R-TX)、Marsha Backburn (R-TN)、J. Randy Forbes (R-VA)、Doug LaMalfa (R-CA)。




Photo Credit: Official Website of Department of State